Stacks Image 15052

Aghavnavanq is a tumbledown monastery complex of 12-13th centuries in Aghavnavank village in Tavush region. It is also known as Anapat St.Astvatsatsin and Aghnabat monastery. It is located in Aghnabat forest, which is known for its valued yew trees.
One can see remnants of numerous buildings to the south of the monument, which supposedly have been the residential and utility facilities of the church.
There are few inscriptions on the church. Western facades of the vestries hold traces of inscriptions, the letter forms of which are typical of the 12-13
th centuries art.
Show on Map

Stacks Image 15073
Goshavank is situated in the village of Gosh amidst wonderful landscape. The Goshavank complex is linked to the name of Mkhitar Gosh, a prominent medieval figure, lawmaker, author of the Law Code (“Datastanagirk”). Prior to Goshavank, Getik monastery stood there in the 12th century which was completely destroyed during an earthquake in 1186. Following this, with support of princes Ivane and Zakare Mkhitar Gosh built Goshavank, which he first named Nor Getik. After his death (1213) the monastery was renamed Goshavank. Further construction of the monastery was continued through the 13th century and supplemented with new church and secular buildings and memorials.
Goshavank has been one of the most prominent cultural centers of medieval Armenia. The fame of the local top seminary spread all over Armenia; here theology, philosophy, architecture, painting, writing and music were taught.
Stacks Image 18357
Gosh Lake
The lake Gosh is located 2.2 km south-west of the village of Gosh in a magnificent landscape. It is surrounded by various natural monuments - rock formations, mineral springs. This is a landslide dam lake. The lake surface mirror is 0.008 sq. km., its length is 100 m, and the width is 80 m. Its maximum depth makes 8 meters, and the water volume is 1500 cubic meters. The lake is fed by springs and atmospheric precipitation. In summer, water temperature at the surface reaches only 14 °C.
Stacks Image 15115
Jukhtak Churches
The monument is located 3 km north-east of the city of Dilijan, on the right side of Dilijan-Vanadzor roadway, on a woody hill slope.
The monastery name Jukhtak is a folk one. It comprises two churches (due to which the name has emerged, since “jukht” means “twin”), St. Astvatsatsin and St. Grigor Lusavorich. Jukhtak monastery was founded in the 11-12th centuries. St.Grigor Lusavich church was built in the 11th century. St. Astvatsatsin was built in 1201 by the idea of architect Sargis and upon the initiative of Hayrapet, the spiritual leader of the monastery.
The churches have sculptures and inscriptions; one of them is placed on the semi-circular stone of the St. Astvatsatsin church facade.
The monument has been also referred to as the Petros monastery and Gisheravank. There are traces of utility facilities in the monastery territory; a medieval cemetery with its unique tombstones has spread around the two churches.
Stacks Image 15136
Matosavank is located 4 km west of the city of Dilijan, on the opposite slope from Jukhtak monastery, not far from the village of Shamakhyan. The complex consists of small adjacent churches, a narthex and a library. The church was built in 1205 with large semi-finished stones. It is a small building with arched cover; the entrance is in the west. The complex comprises St. Astvatsatsin church built by Avag Zakaryan, Ivane Zakaryan’s son in 1247. Cross-stones decorated with sculptures are placed on either sides of the entrance. The walls bear sculptured cross-stones and inscriptions.
Stacks Image 15157
Parz Lake

Lake Parz is located 9 km north-east of Dilijan in Tavush region, at 1350 m above the sea level, in a fantastic natural setting surrounded by thick forests. The lake has emerged due to a landslide, it is an open lake fed by springs. It is 300 meters long and 100 meters wide, with average depth of 3 and maximum depth of 10 meters. The lake area is 0,027sq. m., and the volume is 83.8 thousand cubic meters.

Stacks Image 15178

The monastery complex of Haghartsin is a well-known spiritual and cultural center of Armenia. It is situated 18 km away from Dilijan (in the village of Teghut), surrounded by thick forests and picturesque landscapes. This is a unique example of architecture built in the 11-12th centuries. It flourished under the governance of Khachatur Tarontsi.
The Haghartsin complex includes three churches, two narthexes (one of them ruined), a refectory, oratories, and cross-stones. Oratories and beautiful cross-stones lie on the rock slope on the territory of the monastery, to the east of the main monument group.
A bronze pot was found in Haghartsin (its weight is 350 kg, the pot is now in the State Museum of History of Armenia), which is a sample of high metallurgic art. The pot has an inscription indicating the date of its creation, 1232, and the four handles are made in the form of lion statuettes, the legs are also artistically decorated.

Stacks Image 15199
Qari Lich (Stone Lake)
The Qari Lich is situated on the left side of highway from Dilijan to Ijevan (only 1,4 km from the road) surrounded by a very nice forest. The Qari Lich as one of the most beautiful places in Armenia, is a perfect place for daily trips for individuals but especially for families. There is almost everything for a family stay: finishing in the lake, making barbeque, just laying down on hammocks under the trees and enjoying the virgin nature.